Going back to work

Hello,

I have been on dialysis, first PD and now Home Hemodialysis. I’ve been doing home hemo for about 3 years and I feel great on it. My blood work is good, and I’ve felt healthy enough to re-enter the workforce. Currently on SSD and Medicare + Private insurance (Emblem Health). My nephrologist once told me “Look out that window at the people walking around. You’re healthier than half of those people, some of whom aren’t even aware of what condition they have.”

Recently a Real Estate Director of Career Development for a large Real Estate Broker suggested I become a Real Estate Salesperson. I would be an independent contractor. This means I would be financially responsible for my own health insurance.

Is this something I should pursue? If so what are my options as far as health insurance that covers home hemo?

Would the Affordable Care Act be a useful option? Is that insurance in the place of the Emblem Health private insurance?

How long will Medicare still cover me after I start work full time?

Thanks so much for taking the time to read my post and helping us renal disease patients!

It’s great to hear that you’re feeling well and want to return to work. I encourage anyone who feels well enough to work as much as they are able.