Port vs fistula

:?: I’m new to dialysis. Everyone at the center (tech, doctor etc) keep saying to get a fistula. Right now I have a port. Since I’ve been in the center the people who have fistulas seem to have problems with bleeding after dialysis. I’ve be told this happens because of blood thinners, blood pressure etc. I’m looking to do home hemo, the last thing I would want is a bleeding problem. I’ve heard all the stories about the problems with ports, but it seems like fistulas are not problem free. What is the general consensus here?

bob

Hi Bob,

Welcome to Home Dialysis Central. I’m glad to hear that you’re considering home hemo–you can learn a lot on this site about why you might feel better, have a less rigid diet, more control over your schedule, a better quality of life–and perhaps even live longer with home dialysis.

You asked:

I’ve heard all the stories about the problems with ports, but it seems like fistulas are not problem free. What is the general consensus here?

Rather than a general consensus, I’d prefer to share a study with you:

Kidney Int. 2001 Oct;60(4):1443-51.
Type of vascular access and mortality in U.S. hemodialysis patients.
Dhingra RK, Young EW, Hulbert-Shearon TE, Leavey SF, Port FK.