Catheter repositioning procedure

Hello,

My husband has been a PD patient for about 4 years now. He has been struggling with keeping the fluid off because of absorption and then not draining well. He even has been put on icodextrin for his daytime dwell. Well, the nephr. ordered an xray and the catheter is up really high behind his liver. So, the nephr. has suggested that the catheter be repositioned. I was wondering if anyone had something similar done and was still able to continue PD. I have read that it can be done as a laparascopic procedure, but I’m not sure if that is common. I know that when he had his hernias repaired we did low volume PD for a little while to allow everything to heal.

Thanks for the help.

Amy

Hi Amylynne (what a pretty name!) and welcome to Home Dialysis Central. I’m not a doctor or a patient, but I did do some research for you. This is what I found. It sounds as if surgery is not the only way to move a PD catheter that has migrated out of position. I found two studies, one from 1999 and one from 2001 about using a radiology procedure instead. Here are the abstracts–you can print this and ask your husband’s doctor whether this might be an option for him.

Br J Radiol. 1999 May;72(857):452-6.

The repositioning of migrated Tenckhoff continuous ambulatory peritoneal dialysis catheters under fluoroscopic control.

Dobrashian RD, Conway B, Hutchison A, Gokal R, Taylor PM.