Adequate vs. Optimal Dialysis

Since the question has been raised, what do patients (only, not professionals) think the difference is between adequate and optimal dialysis. What I’m curious about is how far will people go to get the best available outcomes. What will one sacrifice? Please consider that everything in life is reletive and to achieve the best in one thing might mean giving something else up. That includes things like how it affects other family members as well in addition to how it affects you.

Hi Rich
I think I get your question. For me when I started dialysis 27 months ago I was determined to have the Gold standard ie all the Nocturnal I could get. Only when reality set in, I just could not do it.

The whole process of doing dialysis was just so alien to me (I started training for Nocturnal my first day of dialysis) I needed those nights off to sleep and refresh (and have quality time with hubby) so for me optimal is a balance of pretty bloody good blood tests, feeling well and having 3 nights off a week.

Now 2 years later, I might be getting towards being psychologically ready to up the nights a bit to increase the optimal. For me Gold just ain’t gonna happen, but neither is “just adequate” ever.

Cheers

Hi Folks

Hey Rich

I too will more than likely never get to optimal, if by that you mean #'s that are dead on each and every time.I try hard to my best but being that I’m only human I did work very hard to get to nocturnal, In my area they are only two centers that offer home hemo, both 50 miles away.

Bob obrien

I would define optimal dialysis as having a high degree of bio-compatibility and most important to me deliver the most dialysis per minute/per unit of time.