Any good news out there on transplants

Hello all,

I am new to this message board, 38yrs old and struggling with ESRD. I am waiting on a PD appointment with only 9% GFR remaining and a creatinine level of 7.6. I still feel fairly well and produce urine and stuff.
I have spent the last hour reading posts on the message board…some are depressing…others a little more encouraging about dealing with these issues. I am not looking forward to dialysis, PD or surgery…but I certainly understand things can be worse and at least I have an option.

I have a fairly good understanding of what to expect in the near future, and know there will be bumps and bruises along the way. I have a few people lined up for transplants (assuming they pass the tests). I was just wondering if there are any success stories people can share about transplants? It might make others (including me) feel better about hearing these things and giving better hope for things down the road.

Thanks and be well!

[quote=Difficult stuff;15149]Hello all,

I am new to this message board, 38yrs old and struggling with ESRD. I am waiting on a PD appointment with only 9% GFR remaining and a creatinine level of 7.6. I still feel fairly well and produce urine and stuff.
I have spent the last hour reading posts on the message board…some are depressing…others a little more encouraging about dealing with these issues. I am not looking forward to dialysis, PD or surgery…but I certainly understand things can be worse and at least I have an option.

I have a fairly good understanding of what to expect in the near future, and know there will be bumps and bruises along the way. I have a few people lined up for transplants (assuming they pass the tests). I was just wondering if there are any success stories people can share about transplants? It might make others (including me) feel better about hearing these things and giving better hope for things down the road.

Thanks and be well![/quote]