Buttonhole method

I am going to try the buttonhole method. Any hints…?

Vanessa[/b]

I am only fairly new to this too and read all I could find initially.My home training nurse visited once and picked two spots and then it was up to me. My advice is PERSISTENCE pays off! I found putting the sharps in for the first 6-8 times quite challenging at times as it tended to hurt as it scraped the sides of the tunnel that was forming. You do need to try and be as exact as you can but it is not always easy and can still hurt. However it is not rocket science and you do get a feel for it.
Now after several weeks of having progressed to using blunts the actual stress of needling has gone from 90% to around 10% ! It has made all the difference to how relaxed I am as I am setting up.
It is great to not have to think about which spot on your arm to use tonight and whether you are going to miss or not as the blunts will only go in the right place. So my advice is Go for it.
Good luck.

Learn more about the buttonhole technique by visiting http://www.homedialysis.org/v1/types/buttonhole.shtml.

Something I have wondered --when establishing the tunnels, are the same gage sharps one normally uses the gage that will be used? And, when being trained in-center, does a staff member usually do the initial sticking to form the tunnels or does the patient do it? I realize it should be the same person everytime. I have heard of situations where the nurse/tech does not get the right angle, scarping the side of the tunnel and the patient is in pain. So, is it better if the patient is trained to do the sticks?