Father is doing pd question about apd

My father has been doing pd for 1 week when he goes home from the hospital next week they are considering teaching us how to do the apd. which one is better? If he doesn’t do the night one they want him to do pd 4xs a day. Also how did you learn it? They want us to go for 6 hours a day for 4 days at a dialysis center, we want a home nurse. What do you think?

Also he has been having pains in his stomach. Could this be because they are pulling too much fluid out?

He is doing so well since they started the dialysis. His BP is low though it was 75/39 when I was up there tonight.

He also has blood sugar problems.

I am usually the one to talk to the kidney dr, so I want to know perhaps what to ask her. Whap are your opinions on the night one is it apd.

Thank you. I am new to this and will be one of his caretakers.

Next week I have to go to the training with him. Has anyone been threw this, what do you do all day, it is from 9-3.

Also I am wondring if there are some stipulations to doing the night one only. They are thinking they want to do this one, but are there side affects or what is your opinion as to what was easier and better for you or your family.

(he can’t do this he will need help from us whenever it is done)

I am a bit nervous, as his bp and his bs are down and up often. Not sure if we can get a nurse. Anyone have advice? I also want to come up with or print off a sheet so we can post his info on the frig so we are all on the same page in the family, anywere I can find one online?

Thank you
Angela

Hi Angela,