Home hemo spouse

My husband has been on dialysis for 3+ years. He’s been dialyzing at home (hemo) for 6 months. Typically, he gets on the machine 4-5 nights per week. I work full time and he works part time w/ part time disability. I’m a special ed teacher for violent children with emotional disabilities. I’m pooped after a long day, and sometimes after making supper, I just dread the set up, even if what I’m doing only takes 10-15 min.

Holy mackerel, am I alone in this? Any other spouses experience similar situations?

If I suggest that I want a “break” for a day from doing any dialysis stuff, my husband gets offended and makes me feel guilty by saying things such as, “I wonder if I got really sick, would you help me?” or “I guess I’ll have to go back to the unit.” or “I don’t get a break from this, so why should you?” or “All I need you to do is put on my blood pressure cuff and pull the skin back (to insert button hole needles). There’s no break from that. Is that too overwhelming for you?” Or, he says that he’s very angry and that he doesn’t want any help from me ever again.

I’ve also suggested a rotating schedule, so that we aren’t always doing the same tasks. He’s not interested.

I end up feeling angry and exasparated!

Hi Heather
You really do need a break or as you say, change what you do to vary it.

Carers do it as tough as the patients and I know what it is like to do the type of job you do as I have dealt with similar children in my school. I am not the carer but my hubby is and you are right, sometimes you just don’t feel like doing it. We try to give each other nights off doing stuff, there is no routine exactly, we just seem to sense it but some nights we are both tired and irritable. Your hubby needs to realise that you have needs as well, he doesn’t sound like he very happy at present and is playing mind games if he is trying to make you feel guilty. Is there someone like a social worker nearby you can both talk to?