Looking for a dialysis support group in Florida

I’m looking for a home dialysis support group for my sister and her husband.
They live in Middleburg ,Fla. He recently started dialysis and is having a rough go.

You don’t say how long your brother-in-law has been on dialysis, but as a long-time social worker, I can tell you that it is very common for patients to be depressed when they start dialysis or when they have a health setback. I hope he knows that the social worker at his dialysis clinic is available to talk with him and his wife about adjustment to illness issues. Most people think of social workers when they have financial problems, but social workers in dialysis have masters degrees in social worker and specialization in clinical social work. This means that they have training to provide counseling, which is a key reason why the government requires social workers in dialysis clinics. Sometimes paperwork and other responsibilities take them away from this role, but please let him know that he should tell with the social worker he’s having a hard time coping. The social worker may know of a support group or it may spur him/her into starting one.

The American Association of Kidney Patients may have a chapter in your brother-in-law’s area. Its website is www.aakp.org. Another organization that is patient focused and run by patients is the Renal Support Network (www.renalnetwork.org). On the RSN website under support groups, it has someone in FL he can email.

Another great online support group is Dialysis_support, a listserv of almost 900 members that you can read about or join at http://health.groups.yahoo.com/group/dialysis_support/.