Patient weight vs time on dialysis

My husband is currently getting his dialysis at the center We were supposed to be the first family to start home hemo from our dialysis center but due to some issues with his access we were delayed Now they say they are trying to find a home machine that works better on heavier people so that they dont have to spend od much time on their treatments He weighs 220 lbs Are there such machines out there or are they just jerking us around?

Hi Okie,
We use the Fresenius 2008H machine. My hubbies weight is 260.
He does really well with the machine. He has a fistula in his upper left arm but is unable to needle himself. I do all the prep work mixing bicarb etc and set the machine. Once we are on we don’t usually get alarms. He runs 7.5 hrs a night at pump speed 350 and flow at 300. We are also monitored on the internet. I have a web site I have been working on for a few months. I need to add the last few pictures that show how we secure his needles but you are welcome to view the site.
The site is http://mysite.verizon.net/vze70trh
Please feel free to e-mail me at anytime.
We live in upstate NY near Albany.
Pat
pc639@verizon.net :lol:

I visited your site, great pictures! I also signed your guestbook…

I weigh more than that and do home hemo on the Fresenius. I’ve been told I wouldn’t get good treatments on the NxStage, but someone has posted here that they are my size and use the NxStage successfully. I’m not sure how short you want your treatments, I do 4 hours by choice as I don’t want fast dialysis as my belief is that it is harder on the system, but plenty of people are doing short daily on this board.

I’ve known a number of people who weigh as much or more than your husband and they do home hemodialysis using several different machines.