Very tired and light headed

i have been doing nocturnal dialysis for about 2 months now i still have a hard time sleeping so most of the nights i get about a hour of sleep and then i go to bed after my 8 hours is up. have not felt much different before i was in center doing 5 hours a dAY 3X A WEEK. feel tired all the time. and lightheaded. i thought coming home i would feel better. what are somethings you have done to get better?

I imagine there are some people who might never get used to it, sleeping while on dialysis all night, that is. I got used to it pretty quickly. I even have a strong coffee while doing my setup so I don’t get too sleepy, and once on, I fall asleep during the first 30 minutes, usually. How was your sleeping before nocturnal? I don’t have any suggestions for you. I don’t think it would be feasible to take a sleeping aid, because, you might not wake up if the machine alarms - but I’m not a doctor. Maybe you just have to make an effort for a while not to sleep during the day and to get plenty of exercise and fresh air - just to retrain your sleeping cycle.

When I went to daily nocturnal after almost 3 years on conventional hemo, I had to relearn how to eat and drink. There’s no diet on nocturnal, but there is a reverse diet in the sense that you do have to eat heartily with plenty of protein - like you don’t have kidney failure at all. Check with your home hemo nurse/dietician though.

Maybe you need some adjustments to your dialysis prescription - bicarb, blood pump speed, calcium, phosphorus, etc.

Pierre

What kind of machine and R/O are you using? Can you tell if it’s the light or the noise or the dialysis itself that’s keeping you awake?

Mel

If the parameters are set for long nocturnal, I would have to say that you really don’t feel anything from the dialysis itself. It’s like you’re not on it at all - because everything is running so slowly.