A home training nurse asks: How did you hear about home HD?

Hi! I’m a new home training nurse for NHHD, and am disgusted and disillusioned with the modality education in this area. Most of the patients in the in-center clinics I talk to have never heard of nocturnal dialysis. For that matter, I was a dialysis nurse for years before I’d heard of it, and I find most of my colleagues still haven’t. So I’m curious! How did each of you end up contacting a training program? Nate

Internet, internet, internet.

Between bulletin boards, email lists, and google, that is how I found it.

Cathy
home hemo only
9/04 Fresenius
3/06 NxStage

Satellite Dialysis Inc. a non-profit medical organization gave me the information…this was back in early 1980s …

From there I’ve done self researching over the internet…

I was told by a nurse the first week after I started dialysis in 2002 that I might be a good candidate for home hemo. It took me 2 more years after that to ask about getting on it - primarily because at first, a brother was already being tested as a potential donor, and when that failed, it was looking like it might not take too long to get a kidney off the waiting list. Then I got tired of waiting and I just switched. So far, it’s been more than a year, so I’ve already got enough home hemo time to make the training worthwhile.
Pierre

Whilst surfing the net a couple of years ago before dialysis I came across Prof Agars site http://www.nocturnaldialysis.org/ and was blown away. Suddenly there seemed like hope for a “normal life” while on dialysis. I had been thinking I would start with PD beforehand. Next time I went to my Neph I told him that I wanted to try Nocturnal (we hadn’t even got to the stage of really discussing dialysis modalities then). He organised me to go straight into home training for Nocturnal at my closest centre the day I started dialysis. 11 months later I have absolutely NO regrets! except maybe lack of travel…
8)