Barriers & Tips to Overcome Them

What barriers have you encountered starting and keeping a PD program running that you have overcome and how did you overcome them? :?:

The biggest barrier that I’ve faced is doctors not getting much experience with PD in their fellowship training and being reluctant to refer good PD candidates for PD. I’ve told new nephrologists that I have lots of experience with PD and if they send me their patients, by teaching the patients well and supporting them to do as much as they can, it will take a lot of pressure off them that they usually have taking care of in-center hemo patients. This has worked really well. In fact, one of our newest nephrologists is now my biggest referral source.

Hi all,

I agree with PD Nurse that one issue is not enough fellow exposure to PD during training. Does anyone have any ideas for how to incorporate more PD and other home dialysis into Fellowship programs? Are there folks around the U.S. who are doing a great job of this and have best practices to share?

Patients have a right to be able to access all of the modalities, so it’s important for us to figure out ways to address these barriers…

A key element in getting fellows trained in PD is having attending Nephrologist who are interested in chronic dialysis and especially PD. The program I work in receives all of its referrals from a teaching hospital. Years ago there were several Nephrologists there who did an excellent job of training fellows and referring patients for PD, then they left. For the past few years, the attendings at this teaching hospital have been focused on other areas of Nephrology and our referrals for PD have dropped - a lot. With new Nephrologists entering the system that do have an interest in chronic dialysis and PD we are hoping to begin to see a rise in our patient population and fellows who are getting more PD experience.