Button hole techinque

I just want to share my experience using the BUTTON HOLE techinque. I have been on diaysis for almost 18 years. I am just starting my second month on home hemo using the Aksys machine. Prior to that I was at a hospital unit. I have had the same fistual for 18 years… Yes, 18 and for over 12 years I had always insisted that the nurses use the same hole to put my needles in. Mostly because my fistual never got very big and I knew if they used the same hole they would not blow my vein. So, I have been using the button hole technique for 12 years without an ounce of trouble. I have developed a “track” in which my needle threads right in. There is a slight dimple were the needle goes in but it is never sore. Nor does it ever give me trouble when it comes to stopping the bleeding after taking out my needles. I generally stop within 2 to 3 minutes.
I guess you could say, that i’m a big fan of the button hole technique!
I’m glad I started doing it years ago because it sure made needling myself 100% easier.
Deena :slight_smile:

Deena, I share your opinion of the buttonhole technique. Do you use sharp needles? How many different staff needled you while you were in center? How did you explain the correct path to use? Cheers,
Bill

Hey Bill,
I have always used Sharp needles. They tried to get me to use the blunt tip while I did my training for my Aksys machine but, I had trouble trying to clamp the needle. I decided that for me it was best to stick with the Sharps.
Over the years I generally had a different nurse for every treatment. It wasn’t until the last six months at my old unit that I usually had one of two Tech’s work with me. Then, I started to needle myself for the last 4 of those months.