Can starting nocturnal PD earlier in evening increase energy level?

My Dad often starts PD late in the evening, often after 9 pm.His program is 10 hours long. He’s very sluggish in the moring and rarely gets moving until around noon. I know some of that is just the affect of dialysis. However, I think if he started earlier, he would get more undisturbed sleep after his program ended and be less tired when he woke up. Is this worth a try?

I agree with your assessment. PD us a much more passive treatment that should have people waking refreshed. Unless you are using (4) 4.25% or some heavy amount of dialysis.

I am a social worker, not a nurse or doctor. I am wondering why your father is so sluggish in the morning. Have you reported this to his nephrologist and home training nurse? You mention his sleep. Are machine alarms keeping him awake or waking him frequently? My first thought would be whether his labs are in the normal range for someone on dialysis and whether PD is giving him good enough dialysis. Has he lost muscle mass and become weak and debilitated because he is only out of bed moving around 9 hours a day? His doctor or nurse may have suggestions for his medical needs. Depression can reduce motivation and interest in doing previously enjoyed things. Talk with the dialysis social worker if you believe he may be depressed. S/he should be able to help and/or refer him to a counselor where he lives.

Whenever we get a new dialysis transfer or a patient for rehab on PD in the SNF, they are getting EXCESSIVE dialysis. 10 hours on the machine, 2-3 bags of dianeal, huge fills…BUNs at 28-38 and Cr 5-6. Our patients are in the 60-80 with BUN and we have a 16.5 Cr and a 20 Cr. These people are out golfing, fixing their decks, feeling great staying out of the hospital. When normal