Cannulation problems resolved, or Stuart Mott: Fistula Whisperer Redux

TL:DR

Stuart Mott: (573) 826-8237

If you’re having problems cannulating, CALL STUART. If you are wondering if you should contact Stuart, and how, stop wondering and CALL STUART. Now. No, Really! Call him: (573) 826-8237

I started training for home hemo in January. From the start, we had issues with my buttonholes, even my nurse in the training center. The blunt needles just didn’t want to go in, so I ended up using sharps for about a month. My training nurse was able to bring in another tech that had many more years’ experience and she was able to get the blunt needles to go in, but it was like putting a screwdriver into a garden hose. When I tried it, it required so much pressure that when it finally went, the needle went clear through and I infiltrated.

A typical dialysis session would begin with 30-50 minutes of trying to get the blunt needles in. Sometimes (rarely), they would go in like a toothpick into a warm stick of butter – this is how it’s supposed to be all the time. Most times it would be like putting a toothpick in a water balloon. A little more pressure, but it would go. The problem is, it would take forever and a day to find the “right spot.” Something had to change.

I had stumbled across this forum early on in January, but could not find any contact information for Stuart, despite seeing posts saying “call Stuart”. Also, I was reluctant to go outside my medical team. However, in in late June I finally got fed up with the lack of answers from my medical team, found Stuart’s e-mail address and sent a plea for help. “Call me” was his almost immediate reply, with a phone number. I called and now wish I had sooner.