Establishing new button hole cannulation problems

Hi Stuart ,

I have been on home hemo for 10 yrs and am doing very well ; very fit and healthy. I had been using the same two button holes for the first nine years without problems apart from granular scarring on the skin surface, I eventually developed some stenosis , had a fistulaplasty with good results . I relocated the button holes away from the original two (one year ago) as expected I have the granular scarring so thought I would create a second set of buttons to use concurrently with the other two and alternate between the two pairs on a daily basis ( I dialyse every night for 8 hrs) as I’ve been told this will help alleviate the trauma to each hole . I am lucky that I have long straight usable lengths of fistula , however at the central forearm region where I would prefer to locate the cannulas ; the tissue above the vein is so tough that sharp cannulas struggle to go through. I tried an area about 4cm proximal to the anastomsis and the cannula went in very easily with no problems dialysing .My question is :do you have any suggestions for helping with the "tough as leather " prefered needling section and is it ok to form a button hole in the region where the thrill can be felt ie approx 4cm from the anastomosis ?
Thank you for any advice

What type of needles are you using? Medisystems ? or Harmomey

how deep is the mid forearm when you cannulated 1/4 or deeper

I am using Asahi- Kasei Medical 15g cannulas to establish the buttons and will be using Nippro 15g blunts when formed

The mid forearm is slightly greater than 1/4" before blood flashes into the cannula