Fistula Needling - What is best?

Dear Dr Agar,

Without your website I would not be doing NHHD, and I can say with great certainty I would probably be dead by now were it not for NHD.

So thank you very much!

I have read EVERY word on the website, sometimes many times, and still refer back to you at times of worry or question.

I have been doing NHHD for 9 months, and as you would expect, very much healthier!

One of my main concerns, obviously, was my fistula. I use the medikit plastic canulae for 6 night 9 hour dialysis. I use a Fresenius 4008 machine and I do single needle double pump treatment.

It was my rationale that single needle would be better for my fistula, mainly because I still hate needling, even after 3 years of doing it myself.

I do not use the button hole technique.

Your website has answers to almost everything, but the area of button hole against moving the needle site does not really answer mine!

Do you have any data on AVF access survival, or know of any, that relates to both methods?

I realise this is a difficult subject, but any extra info you have would be greatly appreciated.

My fistula is in my opinion good, but does not have enough area for 2 needles to be adequately spaced, hence my single needle.

A great post, William!

And, the very first thing to say in repsonse is … I am very, very glad you are doing single needle dialysis.

Very!

I wanted to try to introduce it here (in Geelong) … indeed we (briefly) tried it some years ago in our home nocturnal patients.

So … why did our single needle effort falter? … in a word, noise!