Funding Undocumented CKD-5 to initiate Home PD

I am a nephrology consultant at a safety net clinic, Marin Community Clinic, in San Rafael, CA. I am aware of a general push to get patients into the home for ESRD services, to both improve QOL and to address costs for ESRD. I have identified an uninsured CKD-5 patient who should have a hidden PD catheter placed, to initiate home training. He has been evaluated by a PD nurse affiliated with Satellite Healthcare, Greenbrae, and deemed acceptable for home training. A private practice nephrologist will assume his care at the clinic and training can begin…WHEN he has the equipment. If he is not trained, he is at risk to enter ESRD via the ER, ICU, a central venous catheter, emergency hemodialysis, a week in the hospital, at an estimated cost of $250,000. THEN, with a CV catheter in place, having had dialysis, he will be given MediCal, and proceed to have placement of a catheter for PD and embark upon training while getting HD. CRAZY! What are the resources I can use to prevent this farce, and motivate others, like myself, to identify what is best for the patient, and society, and then accomplish society’s end; compassionate, cost effective renal care?

Some people who are undocumented have been able to get Medi-Cal under a program called PRUCOL I believe this is the form to use to establish this status. https://www.dhcs.ca.gov/formsandpubs/forms/Forms/mc13.pdf

A friend gave me the name of a Medi-Cal attorney who has been tremendously helpful to his patients in LA County through the Neighborhood Legal Services’ Health Consumer Center. Her name is Toni Vargas and the phone number is 800-896-3202. If her organization doesn’t cover your patient’s area, she may be able to recommend someone in that area.

Thank you for reminding me. PRUCOL is the route! I had forgotten, 5 years into retirement. You got me going: Here’s what I sent out to local activists.