How to replace a broken catheter clamp?

One of my wife’s catheter clamps broke tonight when putting her on. In the past replacing a clamp has required a repair kit which necessitates cutting off the Luerlock and requiring a hospital admission for the task. I vaguely remember someone reporting on a replacement clamp that does not require removing the Luerlock, but can just be slipped on. I tried a “Search” but could not find the answer.

Can anyone help me ?

Mel

Mel I have no experience with catheters but a Googler I am … is this the one you were remembering?
http://forums.homedialysis.org/showpost.php?p=1514&postcount=1
from this thread:
http://forums.homedialysis.org/showthread.php?t=178

Bill, Thanks for the reference. I’ve made a temporary clamp by slitting the base of an old saline clamp longitudinally which I can then separate enough to get the catheter lumen in – rather than enlarge the holes on a big clamp to slip over the luer connector as my big clamps don’t appear to have enough material to permit safely enlarging the hole.

I wish there was an approved permanent clamp for this task. The available repair kit requires cutting off and replacing the luers which, in turn, requires a hospital admission (and a few thousand dollars).

I appreciate your help.

Mel

Mel, given the infection risk of a catheter, I would think a hospital visit would be advised for a broken clamp–or at least a call to your care team. This doesn’t seem like a safe “do-it-yourself” project to me.

Mel;

We have had this problem also…