Hyponatremia

i am a CAPD dialysis patient.
My sodium level is 128 mmol/L resulting in too low blood pressure and tremors in hands and legs.
My salt intake is 4 gm/day plus indirect intake as well.
use of diuretics {Frusemide} promotes hyponatremia{low sodium level}?
night dwell increase sodium loss?

Shivashanker, there is a warning on furosemide (Lasix®) about it’s ability to cause loss of electrolytes. Sodium is an electrolyte. So, please talk with your doctor about these symptoms–you may need a different dose of furosemide or a higher salt intake. I’m not a doctor–you need to talk to yours, who knows you best.

Here is a link to the information on furosemide from the RxList.com website: http://www.rxlist.com/cgi/generic/furos_ad.htm

I don’t know about night-time dwell and sodium loss, but will try to find out. In the meantime, please call your doctor or PD nurse as soon as possible. Loss of electrolytes can be very dangerous.

Me again. This is what I heard about sodium from one of my PD experts:

Furosemide lowers sodium, but it depends on your residual renal function. The more function you have left, the more sodium you would lose in your urine.

Long dwell time removes more sodium than short dwell time.

Sodium loss also depends on the peritoneal equilibration (low transporters lose less than high transporters).

With a sodium of 128, you will not lose much sodium through dialysis, since sodium in PD dialysis solution is 132–unless you have some special kind of dialysis solution (or it is different in India).

I do not know why you have a sodium of 128. You may have so-called “reset osmostat.” In people who are not on dialysis, the reset osmostat leads to compulsive water drinking with subsequent hyponatremia.

I had patients with low sodium on dialysis. In most of them, I could not determine the reason, but suspected that their water intake was higher than their sodium intake. I was trying to manipulate the exchanges in various ways.