Losing my machine to billing dispute

I have been doing daily home HD for three years. I just received a letter from my clinic stating that I will be cut off from home dialysis on Sept. 30 due to a billing dispute. The clinic claims it has to bill my Medicare HMO for 26 treatments per month whereas the Medicare HMO is only willing to pay for 13 treatments.

They said I can either pay out-of-pocket for the difference or cease dialysing at home and return to a regular clinic. Obviously, I cannot afford to pay $1,750 per month.

Does anyone know the Medicare law on this subject? Can a clinic provide me with daily dialysis and then stop it over a billing dispute? I have written to the HMO and asked for the dispute to be resolved. I have faxed the info to my neph. I plan on calling Medicare in Atlanta and ESRD Network. I don’t know what else to do.

Why do clinics offer daily home dialysis and then change the rules after three years?

Mmiller, what has your nephrologist said about this? Often (usually), an MD has to write a letter of medical justification to get Medicare to pay for more treatments than the usual 3 per week. If your doctor hasn’t done this yet, he or she needs to get involved ASAP.

A couple of other thoughts that have occurred to me:
– Contact NxStage & see what they say (or your doctor may need to do this)
– Consider contacting the local press–a media story on your plight may embarrass the Medicare HMO into relenting.

I’ve also asked Beth to weigh in on this–I think your impulse to call the Network is a good one; they can often intervene on your behalf. We’ll certainly do all we can on our end to help you.

Something like this happened to me in early years of dialysis, but mine was resolved quickly…

The Dr. in most cases has to provide written medical justification that you require more dialysis and 2nd to that is your lawyer to help you fight the insurance company…I speculate that your in a for profit clinic?