My Apologies for the redundancy

Hey y’all! I’m Mariah, & my bf Daniel, 38, was just diagnosed with stage 5 renal failure. He’s got type 1 diabetes & high blood pressure. & somewhere in the last 2 years is when his kidneys actually started failing. He owns & runs his own business. PKD runs in my family. My mammy (grandma) has it. 2 out of 3 of her kids have it. (My aunt & mom) 1 out of 2 of my aunts kids have it. & 1 out of 2 of my moms kids have it (my sister). My mammy has been doing dialysis for the last 10 years. She started at home at night. & then treatment moved to in center. She was on 2 transplant list. They opted to removing BOTH of her kidneys about 5 years ago, but unfortunately she’s had some illness’ that got her knocked off the transplant list & she’s never been able to get back on, so she’s been rocking the no kidneys thing, its working for her. But so anyways, I’ve got some background into CKD & dialysis & so on. But it’s almost as if it’s brand new territory that we, my boyfriend & I, are treading on now. We have so many questions. & have been told so much information we don’t know what to think or what’s accurate or not accurate & so if y’all wouldn’t mind sharing with us your experiences & knowledge & understanding, we’d be forever thankful.

1. He’s thinking of doing CPD (the nocturnal one with the cycler? At home of course) what’s yalls opinion on that? Pros? Cons?
  2. Will he even be able to be on a transplant list being he’s diabetic?
  3. He wants to know what he can eat? We’re in that weird stage where we’re not on dialysis yet, but it’s in the future & his doctor said to keep his potassium low. He’s tired of eating salad & wants red meat.
  4. If he does go with CPD (idk if that’s the right letters, but the one in his sleep with the tubes & cycler) will we be able to sleep in the same bed? Or the same room for that matter?