Needle Pain

Hi all,

I do daily nocturnal 7 hours, 6 nights a week. I’ve been using buttonholes for about 3 years now. To start with, for almost a year, there was no pain at all while cannulating and during the treatment too. Slowly however, a little pain started during cannulation. For this, I started injecting a little 2% lignocaine just before cannulation. This helped.

However, a few months back, I would have pain in the middle of treatment. I would wake up and try to press the area around the cannulation sites, fold around the area and then go back to sleep. The pain wasn’t unbearable. But it was there and it bothered me a lot. I was advised to create another pair of buttonholes. I did. This helped too for a while. But a few weeks back, I began having pain every now and then.

I still use lignocaine. So, during cannulation there is almost no pain. But once in 2 or 3 days, during the treatment, I wake up with pain. After a while, I do manage to go back to sleep. But this bothers me since the whole idea of using the buttonhole method is not to have pain.

I thought maybe same site cannulation is not working for me. So, a couple of days back, I started using sharp needles and thought of giving the step ladder method a shot. The first night was great. No pain at all. Last night, however, the pain was back.

I am really at a loss as to what to do. While sleeping, I tend to turn to the side my fistula is (its in the upper left arm). Could this cause the pain?

And I cannot go to any doctor here in India because no one has even heard of the buttonhole method!

Please help me! Any suggestions are welcome!

Thanks
Kamal

Hi Folks

Hi Kamal

I do nocturnal also and have been since 4 of 06… Pain management has been one of the hardest parts to overcome… You should talk with your Dr to see if not demand a change in time on dialysis.