New Center

To open a PD clinic do you have to be attached to a HD unit .I am a PD nurse living in North Carolina who would like to open my own PD facility.Can you advise me?

There is no requirement that a PD clinic be connected to a hemodialysis clinic. Each can stand alone. In fact, if you search by name and type in “peritoneal dialysis,” there are 17 clinics that have Peritoneal Dialysis in their name in the Find a Center database on Home Dialysis Central.

Off the top of my head, you’d need to:
– have a location where you could do training and all the equipment, supplies, and education materials needed to train patients and eventually to train other staff as your patient population grows;
– meet the personnel qualifications in the ESRD regulations;
– have one or more nephrologists who would refer patients to your PD program and prescribe dialysis for their patients;
– have a dietitian and a social worker to make sure that patients have good nutrition and their psychosocial needs are met;
– have an arrangement with one or more companies to provide supplies and PD machine(s);
– have an arrangement with a hospital where your patients could be admitted;
– have a way for patients to call if they have questions/problems 24/7;
– have procedures and policy manuals under which you’d operate and these would have to reflect state and federal regulations;
– be certified by Medicare to offer PD;
– be a Medicaid provider for your state and possibly other nearby states;
– have contracts with major insurers;
– have startup capital.

I bet there are other things that I neglected to mention. Therefore, you might want to talk with the PD nurse or administrator and one of the PD clinics on Home Dialysis Central.