New to all this

Hi all,

My name is Bill, I’m new to all this.

I’m fifty two years old and have had kidney disease for about twenty five years.

I just had my PD Catheter inserted three weeks ago.

I had to do this because I’m having an cardiac catheterization this Monday and the doctor thinks after it, my kidney function will be a lot less and will need to be put on dyilisis right after the procedure.

I really am very afaird of all this.

Any advise to help me get though this would really be apprecaited.

Thanks

Bill

Hi Bill

I’m 52 also. I started dialysis at 49, but I also had my kidney disease for 25 years before that.

I don’t know what I can tell you at this point, except that there is life on dialysis. I’ve only been on hemodialysis, never PD, so, I’ll let others speak about that.

Good luck.

Pierre

Thanks for Pierre,

I was hoping someone out there could fill me on the pit falls. So I know what I can expect. I’m scared about being on dialysis and I don’t know why.

Bill

I’m on PD and it’s not so bad. If the reason they expect your kidneys to fail is the dye they use, then ask about the meds they have to protect your kidneys from it. I think they also have a dye that dosen’t affect the kidneys.

There aren’t too many pitfalls if things work out Ok. All you can do at this point, really, is to be optimistic about it. I’ve never been on PD, but I’ve seen it done many times. Once you start the PD, as long as you do the dialysis in accordance with your training and your prescription, and you follow the dietary requirements, you should be fine. It can happen occasionally that PD doesn’t work out, but, I mean, that’s a bridge you should only worry about crossing if and when you get there. The worse than can happen in that case is that you would have to switch to hemodialysis. The most common complication with PD is infection, but you can minimize the chances of that by strict adherence to the procedures.

Pierre

Bill-