New to Dialysis and Have Concerns

Hello Good People,

I am 67 and was told my eGFR has dropped to 30 and that I may need dialysis or a transplant soon. They are going to do an ultrasound to rule out a blockage.

I have had type II diabetes for over 20 years. I also have high blood pressure, and cardio vascular disease. My birth mother, whom I never met, passed away from a massive heart attack at age 63. She had diabetes also.

My adoptive dad died in 2012 after three in home dialysis treatments. I am pretty sure I don’t even want to try it. I am very concerned about being hooked up to any kind of machine for any length of time.

I am a former professional athlete who taught Karate for 30 years and I have had a great life. There’s nothing more to check off on my bucket list. I have always believed that people cling to life way too tight. Personally, I am prepared to let nature take her course, but I also have a wife and children who are both adults.

That being said, can anyone direct me to where I may read about other patients’ experiences with dialysis? A nurse friend told me that there have been great strides in the science but I am not finding anything to allay my suspicions.

Thank you, and God Bless!

Robert

2 Likes

Hi Robert. I just started home hemodialysis in March. I wanted to ease your mind on a couple of things.

1. Most people don’t start dialysis until the GFR is under 15 and perhaps even more like 10-12.

2. Everyone is different, but my GFR took about 5 years to drop from 26 to 13. I am no athlete, age 61, a 30+year T1 diabetic, on BP meds for 2 decades, and have significant cardiac disease/stents/bypass. I still make urine so that is good too.

3. When your GFR declines more and gets in the 15-20 range it would be time to decide on PD or HD and plan on getting a PD port or HD fistula at the appropriate time ahead of needing dialysis. They take some time to heal/mature.
    Your nephrologist can advise you.