NxStage and high bp

Hello I’m being trained to use the NxStage machine. After 5 straight days of dialysis, 4 hours per treatment and having reached my dry weight ( I could hear my voice was hoarse from dehydration) my blood pressure is still high. 160/90 sometimes 170/100. This is the 4th week of training.

I was on PD for 6 years. In center hemo for 1 year, then home nocturnal on the Fresenius 2008k2 for 8 years, now being trained on NxStage. In the past by bp was mostly 120/80 to 130/90.

The high bp gives me headaches and sometimes dizziness. What should I do? What’s the cause?

Thank you!

Realistor,

I am very sorry to hear of your problems. I used to have high blood pressure but since I receive such frequent dialysis, I no longer have an issue. In fact, my blood pressure is frequently low after dialysis.

I am not a doctor, but you may have an issue not directly caused by dialysis. I would seek the advice of a cardiologist. Sorry that I cant diagnose your issue. It seems that the longer were on dialysis, the sicker we get.

Dear Realistor:

The answer I will give is far more complex than you might have thought, but I will try to keep it as simple as I can.

You say you have ‘reached your dry weight’ and though I note your reasoning for that is ‘a hoarse voice from dehydration’, and that your ‘blood pressure is still high.’ Although these are both clearly troubling for you, I am not sure that they necessarily mean what you think they do - or at least, are not the whole story. Can I suggest you also consider some of the following points - all of which have been proffered without any knowledge of other key variables like: age, gender, body weight and habitus, medication, co-existing disease (diabetes, cardiac disease etc.), and other past history - as all or any of these may temper/change the responses I give below. That said, here goes: