Patient advocate

Hi

Are there any real patient advocates in centers?

I know that there is someone called a socialworker who is "there to help ",but in our center ours is pt and seems more concern with let you talk and hope that you forget. Maybe it to much for a pt person to handle. Plus in our center most of patients are sheep. I don’t blame them , for the most part they are over 60 and more than likely have many problems. And I said in an another post , this center is the only game in town. I’m between a rock and a hard place. I just want to do home hemo and get out. But a part of me wants to stay and fight for these people. But I’ve been down road that before and I got my hands full right now.
Any ideas?
Bobeleanor :?

1 Like

I am a social worker and worked in dialysis for 18 years in 3 different dialysis clinics. I enjoyed my role as patient advocate. As a patient advocate, I felt it was important to gather as much information about a situation and when appropriate I spoke for the patient and tried to help the staff understand the patient’s perspective when the patient wasn’t there. I often attended meetings with patients when there were concerns. I talked with staff about patient concerns in an effort to figure out the best way to resolve them.

I don’t mean to make excuses for social workers, but in dialysis clinics today the decision-makers who decide how many patients a social worker can handle and what are the important tasks that social workers should do do not know what patients want and need unless patients tell them. Even worse, decision-makers do not value what social workers can do with their masters degrees and counseling skills to help patients cope with kidney disease, deal with conflicts with staff and other patients, maintain hope and set achievable goals, and find the resources to help them and their families.