PD and wwork

H as any one out there had trouble doing their PD while at work? I hit a hard patch. I have been doing 1 PD exchange in my office for 3 1/2 years out of 5 and now the powers that be are telling me I am an infection control problem. They say I either have to go home to do my exchange or I have to go to what is callled the “wellness center” which is really just a glorified ER. Going to the center is going to expose me to what ever kind of bacteria comes in the door. Nothing I have tried to explain seems to get through to these people. I am a RN and I work in a hospital, I do education, so that pretty much keeps me away from all infectiuos patients. But going to the center is putting back with patient with infections. I am in a quandry. :?

Does anyone else see the irony of this situation. You’re a nurse and work in a hospital where sick people come every day to get treatment. The patients pose a greater risk to your co-workers so far as infection is concerned than you ever could.

I’d suggest you read about the Americans with Disabilities Act’s employment provisions:
http://www.dol.gov/odep/pubs/adabro/employ.htm

Basically, employers with 15 employees or more must provide “reasonable accommodation” to people with conditions that substantially alter their life activities. The Third Circuit Court of Appeals (PA) in Fiscus v. Wal-Mart ruled kidney failure and dialysis substantially limits life activities so those with this condition are protected by the ADA. In this case, Fiscus was on PD, had a workplace injury was denied reasonable accommodation. Wal-Mart placed her on disability leave and terminated her while she was recuperating from her transplant because she’d been on disability leave 12 months, the maximum Wal-Mart allows. The district court found in favor of Wal-Mart. The court of appeals reversed that decision and sent it back to the lower court.