PD newbie questions

Hi, getting ready to start PD and preparing everything so I will be ready. I have a couple of questions and would appreciate any advice.

1. Do I need a waterproof mattress cover in case my catheter leaks?
  2. What supplies will I need to buy myself that is not part of my monthly order?

Thanks.

I’m a social worker and am not on dialysis. If you’re in the U.S. and have Medicare or most insurance, most supplies are provided. Here’s a list of the supplies that Medicare requires dialysis clinics to provide. If you have other insurance, your might check with your insurance company.

The connection between the catheter and the tubing on the machine is closed and should not leak. I’ve not heard anyone say that they use a waterproof mattress cover. However, I’d suggest if you’re on Facebook, you join and post questions to the Home Dialysis Central FB group. There are almost 7,000 members. It’s a private group so what you post stays in the group. You have to answer 4 questions to be approved. There are people on PD and home HD from all over the world in that group posting 24/7. I’m sure you’ll get answers from people that are doing PD. Meanwhile, here are some recent tips in a blog on the Home Dialysis Central site. You can find other blogs under News & Research. Look for KidneyViews blogs.

Hello!

I’m a nurse that specialized in home dialysis.

You will not need a waterproof mattress cover. The catheter should not leak.

In PD, you always want to remain a closed system. The fresh fluid and your catheter should never be open to air or environment. If the catheter is leaking, or becomes disconnected, you will know it before there is a large amount of fluid spilled. Even more than that, your biggest worry were you to wake with warm fluid leaking out of an exposed catheter is infection.

It should really never happen. Make sure your connections are nice and tight and make sure that you never put sharp things (like scissors) near your tubing.