Rinsing the dialyzer

With in-center dialysis we have to rinse the dialyzer with at leaste 2 bags of saline in order not to react to the fibers inside the dialyzer. Do you have to do anything similar with daily dialysis txs?

For me, there’s no rinsing step as such, but the priming does rinse the whole blood circuit with about 800ml of saline which ends up in a drain bag.
Pierre

Not at all, …however, I did have major problems with reactions in-center and once I started training those reactions came along with me which lasted for the first 3 months…so I did rinse for a while, but now I don’t. The reactions vanished at home. I also don’t use heparin…

Wow-whoa! Whenever I see mention of rinsing &c., I find it really scary!! :shock: We do NOT re-use anything here! I didn’t even feel wholly comfortable leaving the lines & dialyzer connected until next morning to use after failing to cannulate on Wednesday evening. With 210H dialyzers at $100 a pop, you don’t want to waste them, unused.
But the thought of people (I saw one U.K. guy’s posting talking about using lines up to 30 times!!! :shock: :o :? ) re-using gives me ‘the willies’ !

Geez I didnt realise dialysers were that expensive, holy crap!! How on earth is that justified :shock:
I never ever reuse anything. If for some reason I cant hook up, I chuck everything out. It would cost more if I got an infection and ended up in hospital. As far as I know, you are supposed to throw out unused lines anyway. Might be different with other machines.

There is NO re-use of anything in my case. When we talk about “rinsing”, we mean running some saline through the blood circuit to clear it of any manufacturing residue. I used to itch all through my in-centre treatments until they changed my dialyzer to one not sterilised with chemicals. No problem since.
Pierre