Solo Hhd vs Care partner?

Hi, I am new to this page and group. I am specifically interested in any studies showing the mortality rate of Solo HHD patients vs HHD with a care partner. My initial search has yielded no results. Has anyone read about a study like this? I know dialysis companies are trying to make Solo HHD appealing but the patients who are completely independent seem to have a higher rate of death during treatment than those who have assistance. Any help or opinions would be greatly appreciated.
LJ

I am not aware of studies comparing home HD with and without a care partner. I suspect those who choose to do home HD without a partner do so because they don’t have anyone or anyone willing to be their partner partner and can’t afford to pay someone to help them (Medicare doesn’t cover the cost of a partner). Some worry about burdening a spouse, family member or friend with their home dialysis. The burden can be reduced if the patient is trained to independently do his/her dialysis and the care partner is just there to help with limited things. The risks with home HD are less when a home HD patient does dialysis longer or more often and they run a lower blood flow rate and remove less fluid during each treatment. These two differences from in-center HD reduce the risk of low BP. There is a risk of needle dislodgement at home or in-center so secure taping is important. Some clinics require patients to use a monitor that will detect leaking from the dialysis access. Other clinics have remote monitoring. All of these things reduce the risks.

I’ve heard from patients who do home HD without a partner that they do all they can to reduce their risks and know when and who to call if needed. They They choose to accept the risk to have control over when and where they do dialysis where they can make the rules about eating or visitors.