Surgeon Questions

Hi all,

So, I had a followup with my nephr today and my lab values dropped again from a GFR 10 to 6 and creatinine went from a 6 to 9.
He wants to schedule me immediately for surgery to have my PD catheter implanted. Im wodering what questions need to be asked of the surgeon? I have been trying to research PD online to know what to expect, but now the day is here. I would really appreciate input from those who have been down this road.

Needless to say, Im scared to death.

Jeff

I am a social worker and have worked with PD patients for decades. Most of the patients I worked with were frightened when they were approaching the need to start dialysis. They learned that they could work, marry, raise children, travel, and live full active lives.

Have you read the information on PD in the “5 Types of Home Dialysis” that you can access from the Home Dialysis Central home page? It describes manual PD (CAPD) and PD using a machine (CCPD or APD). From the home page you can also read “Patient Stories” about people who are doing PD.

Also, you may want to look at the Life Options Patient Interest Checklist which has a list of questions that you may want to ask your doctor about kidney failure in general and PD in particular:

Here are fact sheets that answer the questions in that Checklist:
http://www.lifeoptions.org/catalog/catalog.php?prodCat=pic2

Hopefully some patients on PD will also respond to your message soon.

I thank God that we went the PD way. I had a temp catheter in my chest for 3 months while we waited for the PD surgery to heal and start using it, and the brief experience se in the clinic every other day taught me to avoid it when I could. Too many people resigned to a slow death there. I for one don’ t do well waiting and owudl rather have a more proactive involvement in my treatment.