The dialysis happy place...removing the right amount of fluid

I have been a dialysis technician for over three decades working for a non-profit dialysis company in the great Northwest.

I lost one kidney to clear cell renal cancer a couple months ago. I had a lot of time to think while I was recovering and am now back to work full time. I want to use the time before I retire to help our patients do well during and after their treatments.

I have been frustated lately by the assessments of dry weights. I know we can do better. The machine is unfeeling and doesn’t care the effect it has on the patient, but I do.

What are the best practices in your center. How does your target weight change? I am looking for a better way to figure the right amount to pull. It is the happiest place in the dialysis world. Any help would be greatly appreciated

I am a consultant with Medical Education Institute (MEI) and a long-time social worker. MEI has been very concerned about dialysis clinic practices where staff and patients are unaware of the dangers of removing too much fluid in a dialysis session that doesn’t allow enough time to remove fluid safely. Research has shown that taking off too much too fast causes organ stunning and increases patients’ risk of death, loss of residual kidney function, and increases symptoms patients feel during and after dialysis. Dr. Jennifer Flythe has published 18 evidence-based articles about the risks associated with ultrafiltration rates >10 ml/kg/hr. You can find those articles on PubMed by searching for “Flythe ultrafiltration.”