This Sucks

Hello,

I really like this site, and I am just here to vent. I started pd about three weeks ago. I had the cathider placed on march 14 and it went well, but when I went in for traing the cathider was not draing. So I had to go to surgery again and pay agian, then we started the dialysis three days after surgery which was not a good idea because then the I was retaing the solution. Finally everything seems to be working, but it is hard. I am 25yrs old and I never thought this day would come. I am on the national transplant list and I have a couple of living donors but I am on dialysis now and I feel like it does limit my life. I have to make sure and do an exchange every 4 hrs which is hard cuz I still want to be young and do stuff. Oh well thanx for letting me vent. PS Dialysis sucks for all of you who don’t already know. I guess it’s better than having to go to the hospital every other day.

I’ve been a social worker working with people on dialysis and with transplants for many years. It’s very common for someone starting dialysis to be depressed, to feel hopeless, and to feel overwhelmed by all the changes. I was always surprised if I didn’t hear what you’re expressing from a new patient. This is why dialysis clinics have clinical social workers on staff. Your social worker can help you look at what you did before and what you’d like to do so the treatment team can help you achieve your goals. You might want to read the module on Kidney School on coping with kidney disease.
http://www.kidneyschool.org