Transplant with fsgs?

Im a 37 yr old male with FSGS found out I had it in 2000 started PD in July 2006 my doctors tell me I have a real good chance for a fast transplant but the more I read up on FSGS just about every thing I’ve read says it just about always come back and they have to have another transplant.Is this true and if so what % rate does the FSGS come back ? If so I have a hard time dealing with it just knowing someone is giving me a kidney knowing that the FSGS could come back and do this all over agian.My social worker I deal with is great and really listens to me but I would like to hear some other people with this to see what they think.
Thanks for looking
Jammar

Hi Jammar, and welcome to Home Dialysis Central. This forum is for home dialysis, not transplant. But–since you’re new, and since I already did a bit of homework on this for the dialysis_support listserv, I’ll repost what I found, and hopefully you’ll find it helpful. I hope so.

I’m NOT a doctor, but I did a search of the published medical literature. (NOTE: This was not a systematic review, just a quick search of the most recent papers). The recurrence rate for FSGS and other glomerular diseases, can be pretty high: from about 20% (with FSGS the most likely type to recur) in one study to 34% in another, to about 66% in a third. None of these studies was large, so it’s hard to say what the “real” rate is.
– If your progression to renal failure was “rapid” (sorry, not defined), the risk is higher.
– If it was “familial” it is much lower (vs. if it is “sporadic”).
– If you are younger than 15 when the disease starts, the risk of recurrence is higher

There seems to be some evidence in small studies that getting plasmapheresis treatments to remove circulating FSGS permeability factor (FSPF) BEFORE a transplant can help reduce the risk of recurrence.

Below are some of the studies I found:

Transplant Proc. 2006 Mar;38(2):470-2.
Recurrent glomerular diseases after renal transplantation.