Travel Planner

Hello,
My name is Karyn and I am a travel agent/planner. I was watching ABC news cast last night about home dialysis. To say the least, it sounds like a wonderful advancement and one that would allow travel. I often thought about getting into the travel segment for people with special medical needs. As I gather information about the possibility of setting up my business to specialize in travel planning for customers with specialize medical needs I have a couple of questions that I hope someone or several people can answer.
First, What information would I need to learn about from a cruise line or a big resort area like Disney World if any for a person who needs dialysis while on a vacation?
Second, do you feel there is a need for a travel agent who specializes in this area?

Thank you, I look forward to your comments.

Hi Karyn,

Thanks for your interest in home dialysis! I’m not a patient, I’m an administrator of this board, but I do have a few thoughts for you. The way that travel is usually handled for the 92% of patients who are on in-center (not home) hemodialysis is that they make arrangements through the social worker at their clinic to find another clinic that will have a slot for them and be somewhere near their destination. This generally needs to be done weeks/months ahead (not exactly spontaneous), and often there isn’t a slot to be had or the times are not convenient, plus there are concerns about getting care at a different clinic that may do things differently or not do a good job putting the needles in.

Patients on PD (about 8%) have had it easier–the PD supply company will ship the fluid they need, and they can either do manual exchanges or bring their cycler machine with them. They still need to connect with a clinic to provide back-up care, but the process has generally been less complicated.