Traveling

just looking for some suggestions about traveling. I have been doing home dialysis for almost two years and this is my first trip. just looking for some help from people that travel on dialysis. not the next stage but go into units. very stressfull. I am hoping I get to do a lot of my set up anyone ever travel and brought their own supplies. help

Do you put in your own needles?

For the last six years I have brought my own supplies when visiting a dialysis unit (before that I self-cannulated but would use their supplies). I use buttonhole needles which are not often available. Since I had to bring the needles I got into the habit of bringing all my supplies. I bring tape, 4x4s, the BP cuff I use to partially occlude the fistula, everything I need to get my needles in (video); once the needles are in I let the staff person finish by connecting me to the machine.

I’ve found that the staff appreciate not having to stick an unfamiliar fistula and are willing to give me some credit because of my demonstrated ability to take care of my self.

The experience of going to a clinic to get your dialysis treatment can be very stressful… After being home for about two months we went on a trip to Puerto Rico for a week (Company sponsored sales meeting). Had a Rental car and drove to the clinic and was rather impressed with the staff and treatments received there. Very good experience… it was like going to the clinic that we were using before switching to NHHD.