Which is best? Hemo or PD

I have been on hemodialysis for about 10 months now. I have a lot of problems with cramping in my feet and legs every time I have a treatment. I’m thinking of PD, if cramping is not a problem on PD. I figure if I dialise every day, I can get the extra fluid off every day. The nurses seem to think I put too much fluid on between hemo treatments. Does any body have any comments about cramping? Has PD helped anyone else out with fluid problems? I’m at my wits end. PLEASE HELP

Hi David, and welcome to Home Dialysis Central! I’m an administrator of this site, not a patient but an educator–but I can feel the frustration in your post, and didn’t want you to have to wait too long before others post replies to you.

The choice of which treatment is “better,” PD vs. HD is really a very personal one. But if you read through the summaries of different home therapies on this site (http://www.homedialysis.org/v1/types/) and our comparison chart of ALL dialysis treatments, you’ll see that all of the forms of home dialysis have one thing in common: MUCH LESS LIMITED DIET AND FLUIDS. I hate to shout, but this is such a key point for day-to-day quality of life on dialysis–along with the ability to schedule treatments AROUND your life instead of fitting your life around dialysis.

It’s frustrating to contantly hear that patients are “putting on too much fluid between treatments,” (even though it’s true!) because the alternative on in-center hemo is to be obsessive about the fluid limit around the clock–and it doesn’t have to be this way if the dialysis would do more of the “heavy lifting” so you don’t have such a high burden of “compliance” with diet and fluids.